Letter V Classical Radio May 29

The third of three programs sampling new classical recordings, with music by Beethoven, Schubert, Brahms, Saint-Saëns, Elgar, Ravel and Mieczyslaw Weinberg.

noon-3 p.m. EDT
1700-2000 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Elgar: “Enigma Variations”
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic/Vasily Petrenko

Ravel: “Le Tombeau de Couperin”
(arrangement by Joachim Schmeißer)
Albrecht Mayer, oboe
Bamberger Symphoniker/Jakub Hrůša
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major
Tianwa Yang, violin
Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin/Antoni Wit

Mieczyslaw Weinberg: Fantasy, Op. 52, for cello and orchestra
Anastasia Kobekina, cello
Berliner Symphonieorchester/Kevin John Edusei

Beethoven: Sonata in A flat major, Op. 110
Jonathan Biss, piano
(JB Recordings)

Saint-Saëns: Quartet No. 1 in E minor, Op. 112
Quatuor Girard
(B Records)

Schubert: “Ständchen,” D. 957, No. 4
(transcription by Franz Liszt)
Khatia Buniatishvilli, piano
(Sony Classical)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: