Letter V Classical Radio May 22

The second of three programs sampling new classical recordings, with chamber and orchestral works by Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Nielsen, Peter Schickele, Caroline Shaw and John Adams.

noon-3 p.m. EDT
1700-2000 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Peter Schickele: “Spring Forward”
David Shifrin, clarinet
Miró Quartet

J.S. Bach: Concerto in C minor for oboe, violin, strings and bass continuo, BWV 1060R
Xenia Löffler, oboe
Isabelle Faust, violin
Akademie für alte Musik Berlin/Bernhard Forck
(Harmonia Mundi)

Caroline Shaw: “Plan and Elevation”
Attacca Quartet

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major
Jae-Hyuck Cho, piano
Royal Scottish National Orchestra/Adrien Perruchon
(Sony Classical)

John Adams: “Roll Over Beethoven”
(transcription by Preben Antonsen)
Christina & Michelle Naughton, pianos
(Warner Classics)

Nielsen: Wind Quintet
Les Vents Français
(Warner Classics)

Mozart: Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550
NDR Radiophilharmonie/Andrew Manze