Letter V Classical Radio May 15

The first of three samplers of new classical recordings, with works by Bach, Haydn, Mendelssohn and Dukas; new music by Danny Elfman and Jonathan Leshnoff; and the 1893-94 version of Gustav Mahler’s “tone poem in the form of a symphony,” originally titled “Titan,” ultimately his Symphony No. 1 in D major.

noon-3 p.m. EDT
1700-2000 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Haydn: Symphony No. 65 in A major
Kammerorchester Basel/Giovanni Antonini

Jonathan Leshnoff: Guitar Concerto
Jason Vieaux, guitar
Nashville Symphony/Giancarlo Guerrera

Dukas: “Villanelle”
Richard Watkins, horn
Julius Drake, piano
(Signum Classics)

Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor
Jan Lisiecki, piano
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Danny Elfman: Piano Quartet
Philharmonic Piano Quartet Berlin
(Sony Classical)

J.S. Bach: Aria variata in A minor, BWV 989 (“alla Maniera Italiana”)
Tamara Stefanovich, piano

Mahler: Symphony No. 1 in D major (“Titan”)
(Hamburg/Weimar version, 1893-94)
Les Siècles/François-Xavier Roth
(Harmonia Mundi)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: