Letter V Classical Radio May 22

An all-keyboard program, featuring selections from new recordings by three of the most gifted and imaginative keyboard artists at work today – harpsichordist Jean Rondeau, multi-instrumentalist (harpsichord, fortepiano, early and modern pianos) Alexander Melnikov and pianist Seong-Jin Cho – plus a classic Brahms performance by pianist Emil Gilels.

1-3 p.m. EDT
1700-1900 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

J.S. Bach: “Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue” in D minor, BWV 903
Alexander Melnikov, harpsichord
(Harmonia Mundi)

Mozart: Fantasia in D minor, K. 397
Jean Rondeau, harpsichord

Mendelssohn: Fantasia in F sharp minor, Op. 28
Alexander Melnikov, fortepiano
(Harmonia Mundi)

Chopin: Fantasia in F minor, Op. 49
Alexander Melnikov, piano
(Harmonia Mundi)

Johann Joseph Fux: Ciaccona in D major
Jean Rondeau, harpsichord

Handel: Suite in E major, HWV 430 (“The Harmonious Blacksmith”)
Seong-Jin Cho, piano
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major
Emil Gilels, piano
Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Fritz Reiner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: