Williamsburg Symphony Orchestra 2023-24

The Williamsburg Symphony Orchestra and its music director, Michael Butterman, will present six concerts in the 2023-24 season.

Highlights of the season include Simone Dinnerstein playing Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 2 and Asiya Korepanova playing Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3, violinist Philippe Quintet featured in pieces by Astór Piazzolla and Max Richter that echo and reimagine Vivaldi’s “The Four Seasons,” a performance of Leonard Bernstein’s choral “Chichester Psalms,” and members of the orchestra playing concertos by Vivaldi and J.S. Bach.

New and recent music includes Aldo López-Gavillán’s “Emporium,” with the composer at the piano; Peter Boyer’s “Ellis Island: the Dream of America;” Viet Cuong’s “Extra(ordinarily) Fancy;” and Stephen Lias’ “Gates of the Arctic.”

All concerts begin at 7:30 p.m. at Williamsburg Community Chapel, 3899 John Tyler Highway.

Subscriptions are $330, including access to online live streams of the six concerts. Access to the streams only is $150. June 30 is the deadline for subscriptions. Single-ticket prices and availability will be announced later.

For more information, call (757) 229-9857 or visit http://williamsburgsymphony.org

The season’s dates, programs and soloists:

Sept. 8
Mozart: Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major

Simone Dinnerstein, piano

Oct. 18
Astór Piazzolla: “The Four Season of Buenos Aires”
Max Richter: “The Four Seasons Recomposed”

Philippe Quint, violin

Feb. 1
Ravel: “Le Tombeau de Couperin”
Vivaldi: Concerto in C major, RV 537
, for 2 trumpets
Viet Cuong: “Extra(ordinarily) Fancy”
J.S. Bach: Concerto in D minor, BWV 1043
, for 2 violins
Bloch: Concerto grosso No. 1
soloists TBA

March 15
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor
Asiya Korepanova, piano
Peter Boyer: “Ellis Island: the Dream of America”

April 11
Stephen Lias: “Gates of the Arctic”
Bernstein: “Chichester Psalms”

chorus TBA
Alan Hovhaness: Symphony No. 2 (“Mysterious Mountain”)
Copland: “The Tender Land” Suite

May 14
George Walker: “Lyric for Strings”
Aldo López-Gavillán: “Emporium”

Aldo López-Gavillán, piano
Ginastera: “Variaciones concertantes”
Britten: “Variations on a Theme of Purcell”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: