Letter V Classical Radio Sept. 4

Sampling the season’s new classical recordings, from repertory staples of Mozart, Beethoven and Gershwin, to a violin concerto by the 18-century German prince Johann Ernst IV, romances for violin and piano by Clara Schumann, a fiddle suite by Wynton Marsalis, and works for guitar and string quartet by Boccherini and Aaron Jay Kernis.

noon-3 p.m. EDT
1700-2000 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Boccherini: Guitar Quintet in D major, G. 448 (“Fandango”)
Sharon Isbin, guitar
Pacifica Quartet

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 17 in G major, K. 453
Orli Shaham, piano
St. Louis Symphony Orchestra/David Robertson
(Canary Classics)

Johann Ernst IV of Sachsen-Weimar: Violin Concerto No. 4 in D minor
Gernot Süssmuth, violin & direction
Thüringer Bach Collegium

Clara Schumann: Romances, Op. 22
Elena Urioste, violin
Isata Kanneh-Mason, piano

Beethoven: Symphony No. 2 in D major
Danish Chamber Orchestra/Ádám Fischer

Liszt: “Chants Polonais” after Chopin, S. 480
Mariam Batsashvili, piano
(Warner Classics)

Gershwin: “Rhapsody in Blue”
Stewart Goodyear, piano
Chineke! Orchestra/Wayne Marshall
(Orchid Classics)

Wynton Marsalis: “Fiddle Dance Suite”
Nicola Benedetti, violin

Aaron Jay Kernis: “100 Greatest Dance Hits”
Jason Vieaux, guitar
Escher String Quartet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: