Letter V Classical Radio Aug. 7

Music for a tragic week, as we absorb the shock and contemplate the implications of the carnage in El Paso and Dayton.

noon-3 p.m. EDT
1700-2000 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Britten: “Sinfonia da Requiem”
Oregon Symphony/Carlos Kalmar

Janáček: Piano Sonata (“1.X.1905 – From the Street”)
András Schiff, piano

Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony in C minor, Op. 110a
(orchestration by Rudolf Barshai)
Amsterdam Sinfonietta/Candida Thompson
(Channel Classics)

Tomás Luis de Victoria: Requiem (“Officium defunctorum”)
Gabrieli Consort/Paul McCreesh
(DG Archiv)

Manuel Ponce: “Variations and Fugue on ‘La Folía’ ”
Judicaël Perroy, guitar

Frank Bridge: “Oration” (“Concerto elegiaco”)
Steven Isserlis, cello
Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin/Hugh Wolff

Barber: “Agnus Dei”
Ensemble Caprice/Matthias Maute

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: