Letter V Classical Radio July 11

A sampler of the season’s new classical recordings, including a new orchestration of Brahms’ String Quintet No. 2, a rediscovered flute concerto by Mozart contemporary Josef Mysliveček, a new piano concerto by British composer Mark-Anthony Turnage, and works by Gershwin, Bach, Vaughan Williams, Dvořák and Kodály.

1-5 p.m. EDT
1700-2100 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Gershwin: “Rhapsody in Blue”
(jazz-band orchestration by Ferde Grofé)
Kirill Gerstein, piano
St. Louis Symphony Orchestra/David Robertson
(Myrios Classics)

Stravinsky: “L’oiseau de feu” (excerpts)
Ilya Gringolts, violin
Peter Laul, piano

Poulenc: Cello Sonata
Edgar Moreau, cello
David Kadouch, piano

Brahms: String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 111
(string-orchestra arrangement)
Amsterdam Sinfonietta/Candida Thompson
(Channel Classics)

Vaughan Williams: Oboe Concerto in A minor
Sarah Jeffrey, oboe
Toronto Symphony Orchestra/Peter Oundjian

Philipp Jakob Rittler: Ciaccona
Concerto Stella Matutina/Rolf Lislevand
(Sony Classical)

J.S. Bach: Violin Concerto No. 2 in E major, BWV 1042
Daniel Lozakovich, violin
Bavarian Radio Symphony Chamber Orchestra/Radoslaw Szulc
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Mark-Anthony Turnage: Piano Concerto
Marc-André Hamelin, piano
Rotterdam Philharmonic/Yannick Nézet-Séguin
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Josef Mysliveček: Flute Concerto in D major
Ana de la Vega, flute
English Chamber Orchestra/Stephanie Gonley

Dvořák: Piano Quintet in A major, Op. 81
Evgeny Kissin, piano
Vadim Repin & Laurent Korcia, violins
Yuri Bashmet, viola
Alexander Kniazev, cello
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Kodály: “Dances of Galanta”
Buffalo Philharmonic/JoAnn Falletta

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: