Tuesday Evening Concerts 2023-24

The Dover and Arod string quartets, violinist Augustin Hadelich and pianist Orion Weiss, the Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and pianist Paul Lewis are among the artists engaged for the coming season of the Tuesday Evening Concerts, the long-running chamber-music series in Charlottesville.

The concerts begin at 7:30 p.m. in Old Cabell Hall of the University of Virginia.

Ticket subscriptions are $65 to $250. For more information, call (434) 244-9505, or visit http://tecs.org/buy-subscriptions/

Artists and programs for the 2023-24 Tuesday Evening Concerts:

Oct. 10
Augustin Hadelich, violin
Orion Weiss, piano

Beethoven: Violin Sonata in G major, Op. 96
Daniel Bernard Roumain: “Filter”
for solo violin
Amy Beach: Romance in A major, Op. 23, for violin & piano
Prokofiev: Violin Sonata No. 1 in F major, Op. 80
John Adams: “Road Movies”

Oct. 31
Academy of St. Martin in the Fields Chamber Ensemble

Purcell: Chacony for strings (Benjamin Britten arrangement)
Nielsen: “Serenata in vano”
Howard Ferguson: Octet, Op. 4
Beethoven: Septet in E flat major, Op. 20

Nov. 28
Behzod Abduraimov, piano

Franck: Prelude, Fugue and Variations, Op. 18 (Harold Bauer arrangement)
Dilorom Saidaminova: “The Walls of Ancient Bukhara”
Ravel: “Gaspard de la nuit”
Florence Price: “Fantasie nègre” No. 1
Prokofiev: “ ‘Romeo and Juliet:’ 10 Pieces,” Op. 75

Feb. 20
Arod Quartet

Haydn: Quartet in D major, Op. 76, No. 5
Debussy: Quartet in G minor
Beethoven: Quartet in C sharp minor, Op. 131

March 12
Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra

Jean-Marie Leclair: “Scylla et Glaucus” Overture
Vivaldi: Bassoon Concerto in A minor, RV 498
Pietro Locatelli: “Sinfonia funèbre” (or “Pianto d’Arianna”)
Michel Richard Lalande: “Les fontaines de Versailles” – Chaconne
Johann Christoph Pez: Suite in D minor
Telemann: Overture-Suite in B flat major, TWV55:B11 (“La Bourse”)
work TBA by J.S. Bach or Vivaldi

March 26
Dover Quartet
Haochen Zhang, piano

Mozart: Quartet in E flat major, K. 428
Brahms: Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34
solo-piano works TBA

April 23
Paul Lewis, piano

Schubert: Sonata in C minor, D. 958
Schubert: Sonata in A major, D. 959
Schubert: Sonata in B flat major, D. 960

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: