‘Resurrection’ in Cleveland

The Cleveland Orchestra now owns the manuscript score of Gustav Mahler’s Second Symphony (“Resurrection”), donated by the Austrian media magnate Herbert G. Kloiber, who serves on the orchestra’s European board.

The score, with the composer’s handwritten edits, was purchased by Kloiber from the estate of Gilbert Kaplan, the New York financier whose fixation on the Mahler Second turned into a second career of widely conducting and leading several recordings of the symphony.

The Cleveland Orchestra opens its current season on Sept. 29 and 30 with performances of the work, led by Franz Welser-Möst, its music director. (The Richmond Symphony’s music director, Valentina Peleggi, will conduct the orchestra, Richmond Symphony Chorus and soloists in the “Resurrection” on April 1 and 2.)

The Mahler manuscript will be housed and displayed at the Cleveland Museum of Art, The New York Times’ David Allen reports:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: