Symphony announces revised fall schedule, adding online concert streams

The Richmond Symphony has announced revised programming and ticketing for its fall 2020 Masterworks concerts, and added online live streams of the performances.

Programs lasting about 80 minutes without intermissions will be staged on Friday and Saturday evenings and Sunday afternoons at the Carpenter Theatre of Dominion Energy Center, Sixth and Grace streets.

George Manahan, the former symphony music director who has been serving as its music advisor, will conduct the September season-opener, “A Century of American Sound.” Valentina Peleggi, the symphony’s newly appointed music director, will conduct the next two programs, “Hymn to New Beginning” in October and “Metamorphosen” in November.

Admission to the concerts will be limited to fewer than 400 patrons, with distanced seating and what the orchestra describes as “stringent health and safety protocols,” including temperature checks and a requirement to wear masks. Tickets will go on sale on Sept. 1, with ticket prices to be announced.

Saturday concerts will be live-streamed, and will be available for viewing for 30 days after the performances. Access to streams cost $55 for all three programs, or $21.50 for each concert. Only one ticket per household is required.

Here’s the schedule:

Sept. 18 (7p.m.)
Sept. 19 (8 p.m.)
Sept. 20 (3 p.m.)
George Manahan conducting
Adolphus Hailstork: “American Fanfare”
Joseph Turrin: “Jazzalogue” No. 1
Jessie Montgomery: “Banner”
Gershwin: “Rhapsody in Blue” (chamber-orchestra arrangement by Iain Farrington)
Aaron Diehl, piano
Copland: “Appalachian Spring” (complete ballet score for 13 instruments)

Oct. 16 (7 p.m.)
Oct. 17 (8 p.m.)
Oct. 18 (3 p.m.)
Valentina Peleggi conducting
Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, K. 219 (“Turkish”)
Melissa White, violin
Vaughan Williams: “Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis”

Nov. 13 (7 p.m.)
Nov. 14 (8 p.m.)
Nov. 15 (3 p.m.)
Valentina Peleggi conducting
works TBA by Schubert, Wagner, Richard Strauss

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: