Letter V Classical Radio Nov. 27

Sampling some of the season’s new recordings, including Thomas Zehetmair’s cycle of the solo-violin sonatas and partitas of Bach, Jonathan Biss’ ongoing cycle of the Beethoven piano sonatas, Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra from Thomas Dausgaard and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Dohnányi’s Piano Quintet No. 2 played by pianist Marc-André Hamelin and the Takács Quartet, and a “La Mer” not by Debussy.

noon-3 p.m. EST
1500-1800 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

J.S. Bach: Partita No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006, for solo violin
Thomas Zehetmair, violin

Beethoven: Sonata in D major, Op. 10, No. 3
Jonathan Biss, piano
(Orchid Classics)

Wagner: “Parsifal” – Prelude
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig/Andris Nelsons
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Victorin Joncières: “La Mer”
Marie-Nicole Lemieux, contralto
Choeur de l’Opéra national de Bordeaux
Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine/Paul Daniel

Dohnányi: Piano Quintet No. 2 in E flat minor, Op. 26
Marc-André Hamelin, piano
Takács Quartet

Vaughan Williams: “The Lark Ascending”
(arrangement by Paul Drayton)
Jennifer Pike, violin
Swedish Chamber Choir/Simon Phipps

Bruch: Adagio appassionato, Op. 57
Jack Liebeck, violin
ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra/Howard Griffiths
(Sony Classical)

Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra/Thomas Dausgaard

Richard Strauss: “Salome” – “Dance of the Seven Veils”
Lucerne Festival Orchestra/Riccardo Chailly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: