Richmond Chamber Players’ Interlude 2019

The Richmond Chamber Players will return to the longtime home of their summer Interlude series, Bon Air Presbyterian Church, for four Sunday afternoon concerts in August.

Concerts will be staged at 3 p.m. Aug. 4, 11, 18 and 25 at the church, 9201 W. Huguenot Road.

The ensemble for this summer includes violinists Catherine Cary, Susanna Klein, Stacy Matthews and Susy Yim; violist Stephen Schmidt; cellist Neal Cary; flutist Amy Casper Pintea; oboist David Garcia; clarinetist David Lemelin; bassoonist Tom Schneider; saxophonist Dusty Dowdy; and pianists John Walter and Daniel Stipe.

They will present familiar repertory by Dvořák, Brahms and Milhaud, along with rarely heard pieces by the pioneering African-American female composer Florence Price and the short-lived Czech composer Vítězslava Kaprálová.

One concert also will revive several works by Allan Blank (1925-2013), the Virginia Commonwealth University-based composer whose music has been performed frequently by the Richmond Chamber Players over the years.

Ticket subscriptions for the series are $90, with single tickets priced at $25. Admission is free for those 18 and younger. Checks may be mailed to Richmond Chamber Players, P.O. Box 14654, Richmond, VA 23221.

For more information, visit

Repertory for this summer’s Interlude 2019:

Aug. 4
Shostakovich: Quartet No. 6 in G major, Op. 101; Schumann: Adagio and Allegro in A flat major, Op. 70; Schumann: “Fantasiestücke,” Op. 73, for cello and piano; Milhaud: “Le création du monde” (piano quintet version).

Aug. 11
Florence Price: “Five Folksongs in Counterpoint” for string quartet; Prokofiev: Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 80; William Bolcom: “Ghost Rags” for string quartet.

Aug. 18
Allan Blank: Meditation for solo violin; Chen Yi: “Night Thoughts” for flute, cello and piano; Blank: Quintet for alto saxophone and string quartet; Brahms: Piano Trio No. 2 in C major, Op. 87.

Aug. 25
Janáček: Violin Sonata; Vítězslava Kaprálová: Trio for oboe, clarinet and bassoon; Dvořák: Piano Quintet in A major, Op. 81.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: