Letter V Classical Radio Nov. 21

Home for the holidays: A program featuring musicians from Virginia and music introduced in Virginia.

noon-3 p.m. EST
1600-1900 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Adolphus Hailstork: “An American Port of Call”
Virginia Symphony Orchestra/JoAnn Falletta

Saint-Saëns: Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor
Zuill Bailey, cello
Roanoke Symphony Orchestra/David Stewart Wiley

Richard Strauss: Suite in B flat major, Op. 4
National Chamber Players/Lowell Graham

Steve Reich: Double Sextet
eighth blackbird

Mason Bates: Violin Concerto
Anne Akiko Meyers, violin
London Symphony Orchestra/Leonard Slatkin

Bright Sheng: Quartet No. 4 (“Silent Temple”)
Shanghai Quartet

Ginastera: “Variaciones concertantes”
Richmond Sinfonia/George Manahan

Brahms: Clarinet Sonata in F minor, Op. 120, No. 1
Charles West, clarinet
Susan Grace, piano
(Wilson Audiophile Recordings)

Zachary Wadsworth: “Three Lacquer Prints”
(arranged for cello ensemble)
Northwestern University Cello Ensemble/Hans Jørgen Jensen
(Dorian Sono Luminus)

Zachary Wadsworth: “Gabriel’s Message”
The Crossing/Donald Nally

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: