Letter V Classical Radio Oct. 17

New recordings this week, including solo Bach from violinist Hilary Hahn and pianist Vikingur Ólafsson alongside pianist Igor Levit playing Ferrucio Busoni’s “Fantasia after J.S. Bach;” François-Xavier Roth and his period-instruments orchestra Les Siècles re-creating the sound of Ravel’s “Daphnis et Chloé” as it was first heard in 1912; violinist Viktoria Mullova playing Arvo Pärt’s Passacaglia; and two popular romantic piano concertos, Saint-Saëns’ Concerto No. 2 in G minor, played by Bertrand Chamayou, and Rachmaninoff’s Concerto No. 2 in D minor, played by Daniil Trifonov.

noon-3 p.m. EDT
1700-2000 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Busoni: “Fantasia after J.S. Bach,” BV 253
Igor Levit, piano
(Sony Classical)

J.S. Bach: Partita No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002, for solo violin
Hilary Hahn, violin

J.S. Bach: Fantasia and Fugue in A minor, BWV 904
Vikingur Ólafsson, piano
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Ravel: “Daphnis et Chloé”
Les Siècles/François-Xavier Roth
(Harmonia Mundi)

Arvo Pärt: Passacaglia
Viktoria Mullova, violin
Estonian National Symphony Orchestra/Paavo Järvi

Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor
Bertrand Chamayou, piano
Orchestre National de France/Emmanuel Krivine

Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2 in D minor
Daniil Trifonov, piano
Philadelphia Orchestra/Yannick Nézet-Séguin
(Deutsche Grammophon)