Richmond Chamber Players’ Interlude 2018

The Richmond Chamber Players’ 2018 Interlude series of four Sunday afternoon concerts in August will be staged at River Road Church, Baptist, in western Henrico County, while the series’ usual venue, the sanctuary of Bon Air Presbyterian Church, is closed for renovation.

This summer’s series will mark the centenary of Claude Debussy’s death with his Piano Trio and the 100th aniversaries of two works, Germaine Tailleferre’s String Quartet and Igor Stravinsky’s “L’histoire du soldat” (“The Soldier’s Tale”), the latter in a performance of the concert suite for clarinet, violin and piano that Stravinsky arranged from the original theater piece.

Other repertory ranges from solo string works by Johann Sebastian Bach and George Crumb to the Piano Trio by the early 20th century British composer Ethel Smyth, a woodwind trio by the late Richmond composer Allan Blank and string quartets by Shostakovich and the Mexican composer Javier Álvarez.

Performers include violinists Susy Yim and Catherine Cary, violist Stephen Schmidt, cellists Neal Cary and Ryan Lannan, clarinetists Jared Davis and David Niethamer, flutist Mary Boodell, bassoonist Thomas Schneider, harpist Lynette Wardle and pianist John Walter.

Tickets, $25 per concert, will be sold at the door and may be ordered in advance by mail: Richmond Chamber Players, P.O. Box 14654, Richmond, VA 23221. For details, visit

Interlude 2018 programs, all at 3 p.m. at River Road Church, Baptist, River and Ridge roads:

Aug. 5
Stravinsky” L’histoire du soldat” (“The Soldier’s Tale”) Suite for clarinet, violin and piano; Allan Blank: “Introduction and Three Episodes” for flute, clarinet and bassoon; Mozart: Flute Quartet in D major, K. 285.

Aug. 12
J.S. Bach: Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001, for solo violin; Henry Cowell: “Seven Paragraphs” for string trio; Kodály: Intermezzo for string trio; Germaine Tailleferre: String Quartet.

Aug. 19
Ethel Smyth: Piano Trio; Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 5

Aug. 26
Debussy: Piano Trio; George Crumb: Sonata for solo cello; Javier Álvarez: “Metro Chabacano” for string quartet; Dvořák: String Quartet in F major, Op. 96 (“American”) – IV: Finale.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: