Letter V Classical Radio May 2

The third of three programs sampling the season’s new classical recordings, with music by Haydn, Beethoven, Vaughan Williams, Ravel, Gershwin, Stravinsky, Bohuslav Martinů, Dag Wirén and Alfred Schnittke.

noon-3 p.m. EDT
1600-1900 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Stravinsky: “Fireworks”
Lucerne Festival Orchestra/Riccardo Chailly

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major
Martha Argerich, piano
Mito Chamber Orchestra/Seiji Ozawa

Schnittke: “Suite in the Old Style”
Francisco Fullana, violin
David Fung, piano
(Orchid Classics)

Haydn: Sonata in C major, Hob. XVI:48
Olivier Cavé, piano

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 6 in E minor
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic/Andrew Manze

Martinů: “Romance of the Dandelions”
Danish National Vocal Ensemble/Marcus Creed
(OUR Recordings)

Dag Wirén: Serenade, Op. 11, for string orchestra
Iceland Symphony Orchestra/Rumon Gamba

Ravel: Piano Concerto in G major
Denis Kozhukhin, piano
Orchestre de la Suisse Romande/Kazuki Yamada

Gershwin: “An American in Paris”
Buffalo Philharmonic/JoAnn Falletta

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: