Letter V Classical Radio April 18

The second of three samplers of new classical releases, with music by Mozart, Bruckner, Walton, Bach and Zelenka, plus four baroque arias sung by the remarkable Norwegian treble Aksel Rykkvin.

noon-3 p.m. EDT
1600-1900 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Bernstein: “Candide” Overture
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic/Christian Lindberg

Handel: “Diana cacciatrice” – March, “Alla caccia,” “Foriera la tromba”
Handel: “Ode for the Birthday of Queen Anne” – “Eternal source of light divine”
Rameau: “Naïs” – “Je ne sais quel ennui me presse”
Albinoni: “La Statira” – “Vien con nuova Orribil guerra”
Aksel Rykkvin, treble
Mark Bennett, trumpet
MIN Ensemble/Lazar Miletic
(Signum Classics)

Jan Dismas Zelenka: Trio Sonata No. 3 in B flat major
Ensemble Berlin Prag

J.S. Bach: “The Well-Tempered Clavier,” Book 2 – Fugue in G minor, BWV 885
Brad Mehldau: “After Bach: Ostinato”
Brad Mehldau, piano

Walton: Partita for orchestra
BBC Symphony Orchestra/Edward Gardner

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 27 in B flat major, K. 595
Piotr Anderszewski, piano & director
Chamber Orchestra of Europe
(Warner Classics)

Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 in E flat major (“Romantic”)
Gewandhaus Orchestra, Leipzig/Andris Nelsons
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: