Letter V Classical Radio Sept. 20

A feast of piano music: In the second hour, we’ll hear performances by Alexander Paley as the pianist joins me in the studio to discuss his Richmond music festival, marking its 20th anniversary with four concerts from Sept. 22 to 24 at St. Luke Lutheran Church. And we’ll hear new and recent recordings by Krystian Zimerman, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Evgeny Kissin, Fazil Say, Arcadi Volodos, and the duo of Martha Argerich & Stephen Kovacevich.

noon-3 p.m. EDT
1600-1900 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

J.S. Bach: “French Suite” No. 4 in E flat major, BWV 815
Vladimir Ashkenazy, piano

Capriccio in F sharp minor, Op. 76, No. 1
Capriccio in B minor, Op. 76, No. 2
Arcadi Volodos, piano
(Sony Classical)

Nocturne in C sharp minor, Op. posth.
Nocturne in C minor, Op. posth.
Fazil Say, piano
(Warner Classics)

Beethoven: Sonata in F minor, Op. 57 (“Appassionata”)
Evgeny Kissin, piano
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Balakirev: “Islamey”
Alexander Paley, piano
(Brilliant Classics)

Dvořák: “From the Bohemian Forest” – “In the Spinning Room”
Alexander Paley & Peiwen Chen, piano four-hands
(Paley Festival)

Mozart: Fantasie in D minor, K. 397
Alexander Paley, piano

Debussy: “Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun”
(arrangement by Claude Debussy)
Martha Argerich & Stephen Kovacevich, pianos
(Warner Classics)

Schubert: Sonata in B flat major, D. 960
Krystian Zimerman, piano
(Deutsche Grammophon)

Brahms: Intermezzo in A major, Op. 118, No. 2
Arcardi Volodos, piano
(Sony Classical)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: